top of page

Coming Home

I love visiting my daughter and her family who live 1,000 miles away. I love golfing in Arizona a couple times a year. I love visiting friends in Alaska, Canada, Sequim, etc., and all the fun and fellowship we enjoy. Road trips–adore them! And most of all, I love coming home. There is usually a bit of post-travel letdown, but there is nothing as sweet as sleeping in our own bed, using our own bathrooms and kitchen, enjoying our back yard and patio (during the warm months), and maybe most of all, sitting in our recliners! The comfortable routines of coffee in bed each morning. Lunch in front of an old TV series like Perry Mason or Matlock. Afternoon mocha. Dinner in front of Jeopardy. Using our own computers. Reading in bed before lights-out. As wonderful as our travels have been, they always entail periods of discomfort, and a yearning for the peace and calm of home. This easily translates to feelings about my Real Home. I haven’t seen it yet, but I instinctively know that the best is yet to come. This is not our Country. We are just passing through. As we travel through this beautiful Land we currently occupy and enjoy, there is, and should be, a yearning for Home…the knowledge that true peace and rest are awaiting.

bottom of page